If You Braid Hair In Nashville Unlicensed, You Could Be Fined!

Apparently in Tennessee, braiding hair is not as simple as it should be! The Institute for Justice revealed that almost $100k in fines have been levied against several hair braiders and more than 30 different hair shops/salons since 2009 all because of "unlicensed braiding." HOW RIDICULOUS.

Braiders who work out of their homes or unlicensed salons are the ones being targeted, even the salons and shops who have employed workers who do not hold a government license to braid hair could be fined about $1,000.

According to theroot.com, Tennessee mandates that only licensed “natural hair stylists” can earn a living by braiding, twisting, wrapping, weaving, extending or locking hair; however, securing such a license can often be a burden. Potential braiders must finish at least 300 hours of coursework, which, the institute notes, is equivalent to working almost two months full time. ALL THAT and there's only about three schools in the entire state offer the relevant courses, charging anywhere from $1,500 to $5,000 for tuition.

Many feel like this is a complete waste of time. “I never did any other job but hair braiding my whole life,” one salon owner Fatou Diouf said, “I cannot recall a time when I did not know how.”

“They’re not going to learn something they already knew,” Diouf said. “Why would we pay thousands of dollars just to take a test?”

This issue in Tennessee may soon come to an end, HOPEFULLY sooner than later. Because this is insane if you ask me. Mississippi requires braiders to be registered with the Department of Health and pay a $25 fee. That’s it. Why can't Tennessee do the same?


Lizette Love

Lizette Love

Originally from the West Coast -- I'm 28, Pisces, a mommy, latina. I LOVE Rihanna, Dr. Pepper & tacos. Probably the only person on earth with no tattoos and I carried hot sauce in my bag YEARS before Beyonce made it cool. #swag Read more


Content Goes Here